Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Wood Structural Panels Designed to Resist Combined Shear & Uplift from Wind Loads PM (DES417)
Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Wood Structural Panels Designed to Resist Combined Shear & Uplift from Wind Loads PM (DES417)

9/12/2019
When: Thursday, September 12, 2019
1:55pm - 3:00pm Eastern. Education credits for 1 Hour of Instruction will be awarded.
Where: Complementary Webinar
Webinar
United States
Presenter: Buddy Showalter, PE, AWC
Contact: AWC Education


Online registration is closed.
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Date:
Thursday, September 12, 2019 
Time: 
1:55 PM - 3:00 PM Eastern
12:55 PM - 2:00 PM Central
11:55 AM - 1:00 PM Mountain
10:55 AM - 12:00 PM Pacific

 

Wood Structural Panels Designed to Resist Combined Shear & Uplift from WindLoads (DES417) 

Description
AWC’s 2015 Special Design Provisions for Wind and Seismic (SDPWS) and 2018 Wood Frame Construction Manual (WFCM) which are referenced in the national building codes, both contain provisions for wood structural panel shear walls designed to resist shear and uplift forces simultaneously. This webinar provides an overview of the prescriptive and engineered provisions, tabulated values, design examples, and requirements for installation per the 2015 SDPWS and 2018 WFCM.

Learning Objectives
1. Recognize requirements for wood structural panels designed to resist combined shear and uplift from wind
2. Utilize the limitations of engineered and prescriptive provisions
3. Describe the progression of changes over time
4. Summarize the requirements for installation of wood structural panel systems to resist simultaneous wind shear and uplift loads

 

Equivalencies: 1 Hour of Instruction = 0.1 Continuing Education Units (CEU) = 1 Professional Development Hours (PDH) = 1 Learning Units (LU)

 

The PDF of the presentation will posted 24 hours before the webinar, and can be accessed here.

View System Requirements

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal