Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
CLT Stands Up - A Look at CLT Wall Design PM (DES442)
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
CLT Stands Up - A Look at CLT Wall Design PM (DES442)

 Export to Your Calendar 4/11/2019
When: Thursday, April 11, 2019
1:55pm - 3:00pm Eastern. Education credits for 1 Hour of Instruction will be awarded.
Where: Complementary Webinar
Webinar
United States
Presenter: Lori Koch, PE, and Michelle Kam-Biron, PE, SE, SECB, AWC
Contact: AWC Education


Online registration is available until: 4/11/2019
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Date:
Thursday, April 11, 2019 
Time: 
1:55 PM - 3:00 PM Eastern
12:55 PM - 2:00 PM Central
11:55 AM - 1:00 PM Mountain
10:55 AM - 12:00 PM Pacific 

 

CLT Stands Up - A Look at CLT Wall Design (DES442)

Even before cross-laminated timber (CLT) was recognized in the 2015 IBC, there was growing interest to use it in the US by designers seeking a sustainable construction product, with a reduced on-site construction time, all while exploiting the natural beauty of wood to provide a pleasing environment to occupants.  Not only does CLT meet all of these attributes, but it also provides excellent thermal separation and can be designed to provide up to two hours of fire resistance and even more when protected.  This presentation will provide a step-by-step design example of CLT used in a wall application to resist gravity loads as well as design for exposure to fire per the 2018 National Design Specification® (NDS®) for Wood Construction and AWC’s TR-10 – Calculating the Fire Resistance of Wood Members and Assemblies.  

Learning Objectives:

1. Discuss relevant CLT product manufacturing and design standards and identify where these standards are referenced in the IBC. 
2. Describe how to design CLT walls for gravity loads. 
3. Design a CLT wall for fire resistance and thermal separation. 
4. Discuss existing state of in-plane CLT shear wall design provisions. 

 

Equivalencies: 1 Hour of Instruction = 0.1 Continuing Education Units (CEU) = 1 Professional Development Hours (PDH) = 1 Learning Units (LU)

 

The PDF of the presentation will posted 24 hours before the webinar, and can be accessed here.

View System Requirements

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal