Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Experiences of a Mass Timber Builder AM (DES606)
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Experiences of a Mass Timber Builder AM (DES606)

 Export to Your Calendar 8/16/2018
When: Thursday, August 14, 2018
10:55am - 12:00pm Eastern. 1 Hour of Education Credit will be awarded.
Where: Complementary Webinar
Webinar
United States
Contact: AWC Education


Online registration is available until: 8/16/2018
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Date:
Thursday, August 16, 2018
Time:
10:55AM-12PM Eastern
9:55AM-11AM Central
8:55AM-10AM Mountain
7:55AM-9AM Pacific

Experiences of a Mass Timber Builder (DES606)

The concept of taller wood structures has captured widespread attention. Some see expanding timber use as one of the few ways to reach ambitious carbon reduction goals; others are inspired by new aesthetic opportunities—but Lendlease, an international construction and development firm, sees the use of mass timber for mid- and high-rise structures as a way to build higher quality buildings, faster and safer. As one of the most experienced contractors of mass timber buildings in the US, Lendlease will offer insights on a proposed change to the 2021 International Building Code that would see increased height and story allowances for mass timber structures.

Learning Objectives:

Participants will:
1. Review worldwide mass timber project examples built by Lendlease, comparing construction techniques and carbon advantages to traditional building methods.
2. Understand the ICC Ad Hoc Committee's code change proposal for the 2021 International Building Code (IBC) that could allow taller wood buildings.
3. Learn where to find information and research that supports the new 2021 IBC Code change.
4. Recognize how mass timber for mid- and high-rise structures provides for higher quality buildings to be constructed faster and safer.

 

Equivalencies: 1 Hours of Instruction = 0.1 Continuing Education Units (CEU) = 1 Professional Development Hours (PDH) = 1 Learning Units (LU)

The PDF of the presentation will posted 24 hours before the webinar, and can be accessed here.

View System Requirements

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal