Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Fire-Resistance Design Primer for Mass Timber Construction AM (DES602-1)
Register Tell a Friend About This EventTell a Friend
Fire-Resistance Design Primer for Mass Timber Construction AM (DES602-1)

 Export to Your Calendar 6/14/2018
When: Thursday, June 14, 2018
From 10:55am until 12pm Eastern. 1 Hour of Education credit awarded.
Where: Complimentary Webinar
United States
Presenter: Paul Coats, PE, CBO, AWC
Contact: 202-463-2704


Online registration is available until: 6/14/2018
« Go to Upcoming Event List  

Date:
Thursday, June 14, 2018 
Time: 
10:55AM-12PM Eastern
9:55AM-11AM Central
8:55AM-10AM Mountain
7:55AM-9AM Pacific 

Fire-Resistance Design Primer for Mass Timber Construction (DES602-1)

This presentation examines how fire resistance ratings in the 2015 International Building Code (IBC) apply to mass timber and heavy timber construction. Topics include how the IBC incorporates fire testing and calculation methods to quantify fire resistance as well as how various materials, including wood, behave when exposed to high temperatures in fires.  Discussion will include code compliant calculation methods for fire resistance ratings of wood frame assemblies and for wood members exposed to fire per the 2015 National Design Specification® (NDS®) for Wood Construction Chapter 16.  Mass timber fire resistance ratings when fully exposed or provided with some degree of noncombustible protection is addressed based on current and proposed future code provisions. Also included is information on fire testing, an introduction to cross laminated timber (CLT), and an overview of proposed changes to the 2021 IBC regarding tall mass timber buildings.

Learning Objectives

Participants will:

1.      Visualize how mass timber and heavy timber building elements behave when subjected to fire.

2.      Understand basic methods to achieve fire resistance ratings in the 2015 IBC.

3.      Learn how fire resistance ratings of wood assemblies and mass timber are calculated.

4.      Utilize an introduction to CLT as incorporated in the 2015 IBC along with future code change concepts to form a basis of understanding about taller and larger timber structures.

Jim Smith, PE, American Wood Council 

  

Equivalencies: 1 Hours of Instruction = 0.1 Continuing Education Units (CEU) = 1 Professional Development Hours (PDH) = 1 Learning Units (LU)

The PDF of the presentation will posted 48 hours before the webinar, and can be accessed here.

View System Requirements



Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal